2 Comments

Bigger on the inside…

I seem to remember that the Doctor pinched his TARDIS in doubtful circumstances before setting out to explore the universe. Now, the last of the Time Lords travels through time and space in this sentient, telepathic time machine; his Big Blue Box.

Can we find parables in his story helpful to our understanding of the Christ, the LORD of ALL, who came into our time and space from eternity, sent from his Father and ours to deliver us from certain death?

John 6:38-40For I have come down from heaven not to do my will but to do the will of him who sent me. 39 And this is the will of him who sent me, that I shall lose none of all that he has given me, but raise them up at the last day. 40 For my Father’s will is that everyone who looks to the Son and believes in him shall have eternal life, and I will raise him up at the last day.”

Well yes I believe we can; up to a point.

Once we accept that the Doctor is not God, nor in any sense whatsoever our Creator or Redeemer, that his multiple deaths and resurrections are absolutely powerless to save us from him who is to be truly feared, then yes, there are some exciting parallels in his relationship with humanity in general and his chosen companions in particular.

On that basis, “Allons y!” or “Geronimo!’ or whatever.

Since we are hitching our thoughts to the Doctor’s ‘Blue Box’ I want to start with that. It’s always fun to watch the expression on the face of any first time traveler in the TARDIS as they discover that it really is ‘bigger on the inside’.

It seems that even the Doctor himself gets a kick out of this now and is disappointed if he feels it is not well enough appreciated, pointing it out again and again on one occasion.

One theme appearing in the New Testament that strikes a chord with this, for me at least, is the recurring use of the expression, ‘in Christ’.

Here are just a few references to that expression which I believe may be emphasized for us when we watch the Doctor and his companions.

2 Corinthians 5:17 Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; the old has gone, the new has come! 18 All this is from God, who reconciled us to himself through Christ and gave us the ministry of reconciliation: 19 that God was reconciling the world to himself in Christ, not counting men’s sins against them.

By grace through faith we are ‘in Christ’ and in him we have begun the adventure of our lives; and we soon discover that he is ‘bigger on the inside’.

Colossians 2:9 For in Christ all the fullness of the Deity lives in bodily form, 10 and you have been given fullness in Christ, who is the head over every power and authority.

The apostle Paul would not boast of his experiences ‘in Christ’ but neither would he deny them when they meant giving glory to God. There is a hunger for the mystical in our most materialistic of worlds that would be a puzzle if we weren’t aware that it springs from our need for God. Paul more than any of us probably shall, this side of heaven, knew something of being lifted out of time and space in his journey with Christ.

2 Corinthians 12:2-6 I know a man in Christ who fourteen years ago was caught up to the third heaven. Whether it was in the body or out of the body I do not know–God knows. 3 And I know that this man–whether in the body or apart from the body I do not know, but God knows– 4 was caught up to paradise. He heard inexpressible things, things that man is not permitted to tell. 5 I will boast about a man like that, but I will not boast about myself, except about my weaknesses. 6 Even if I should choose to boast, I would not be a fool, because I would be speaking the truth. But I refrain, so no one will think more of me than is warranted by what I do or say.

We hear the Doctor’s companions say occasionally as they recall their travels with him, “I have seen such things out there.”

Don’t feel too jealous of them…

1 Corinthians 2:7-9 No, we speak of God’s secret wisdom, a wisdom that has been hidden and that God destined for our glory before time began. 8 None of the rulers of this age understood it, for if they had, they would not have crucified the Lord of glory. 9 However, as it is written:”No eye has seen, no ear has heard, no mind has conceived what God has prepared for those who love him” —

In the course of their adventures the Doctor’s companions have also seen such trouble; so many enemies more powerful than them have attacked them again and again but they are always saved by their Time Lord friend.

Don’t feel too jealous of them…

Romans 8:37-39 No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us. 38 For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, 39 neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.

Finally, I am reassured that ‘in Christ’ we have both Lord and friend even more capable than that raggedy Doctor of Amelia’s. 

Ephesians 3:20 Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us, 21 to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever! Amen.

Like all parables,

Colossians 2:17 These are a shadow of the things that were to come; the reality, however, is found in Christ.

And for him, one heart has been enough.

2 comments on “Bigger on the inside…

  1. Hello fellow author – sorry I didn’t even see that you had blogged here, til 8 days after the event! Now I am following our own blog here so that I will be updated incase I forget to check! I love this comment:
    “By grace through faith we are ‘in Christ’ and in him we have begun the adventure of our lives; and we soon discover that he is ‘bigger on the inside’.” Wonder what the BBC or Steven Moffat would think of this parallel!

  2. […] Just a bit of fun!! (2 great TARDIS themed pieces of furniture). When you are done go read the post on Jesus, who is Bigger on the Inside. […]

Leave a Reply

Nature on the Edge

Wildlife photography along the urban edge

Stills From Beautiful Films

a growing archive of handpicked stills from the best looking movies.

Amazing Tangled Grace

A blog about my spiritual journey in the Lord Jesus Christ.

Musically Yours

A rich platter for the humungous appetite of a music lover

A Nourished Spirit by Sue Steiner

A year of thanks-be-to-God to mark my 70th birthday

Danny's Brew for Thought

My thoughts on music, theology, and beyond...

Timely Scores

downloadable sheet music crafted by Christine Sullivan Robbins

The Bible Blotter

Turning the Bible Into Behavior

The Great Physician

A not-so-great future physician learning from the Great Physician: A Journey Through Medicine & Faith

