2 Comments

It takes the Doctor to show you how brilliant you are

TurnLeftWhat would happen if Donna never met the Doctor? How would Earth handle the Racnoss, the falling Titanic or the Sontarans? In this episode Turn Left (Series 4/11), the question is answered. Aided by a familiar blonde time traveller back from a parallel universe (Rose), Donna travels through time to stop the alternate time line from happening, sacrificing her life (or at least one version of it) in the process. All it took was a simple turn left at a certain intersection, at a certain time on an ordinary day.

Donna was probably the most fiesty of the Doctor’s recent companions. She was never scared to challenge his decisions or let him know that she was not remotely interested in the “long streak of alien nothing” that he was to her. She just wanted a mate, an adventurous travelling companion. And he was certainly that. She wanted to travel with him forever. But it seems she was more brilliant, more important, than she or we ever knew. At the end of this episode we realise that without Donna meeting the Doctor, he would not have survived the battle with the Racnoss, and so many more alien encounters would have ended in disaster for humanity.

The Doctor: Sometimes I think there’s way too much coincidence around you, Donna. I met you once, then I met your grandfather, then I met you again. In the whole wide universe, I met you for a second time. Like something’s binding us together.
Donna Noble: Don’t be so daft. I’m nothing special.
The Doctor: Yes you are, you’re brilliant!
Rose Tyler: [Donna has a flashblack] I thought you’re brilliant.
Donna Noble: She said that.
The Doctor: Who did?
Donna Noble: That woman, I can’t remember.

For the full plot description click here.

In the same way once we enter this world it may not take long for us to become fully convinced that we are totally insignificant. Most people think their lives are just a random collection of incidents or accidents and that there is no one is watching or concerned for their future. John 3:16 and Ephesians 2:10 tells us something quite different. We are worth rescuing (God sent his Son into the world to save us) and God has planned in advance for us to do great things in His name. If we are His, if we belong to Him, no insignificant moments go by. All things are being worked together for good, and He is willing to use us in His plan. We may not get to stop the universe from imploding (like Donna), but certainly God’s work through us will be brilliant!

The more I rewatch series 4 the more I am convinced that Donna was literally a brilliant companion. You’ll be hearing more from me on this again soon.donna

About sevennotesofgrace

The author musing here about music, grace and God goes by the name of Ros. I have a husband (married 24 yrs) and three daughters. I've been many things over the years, particularly a mother, high school teacher, church music director and women's ministry co-ordinator. Now I'm back to teaching high school English full-time. All these experiences have come to me from God's gracious hand, and each day I try to remember that! I live in a home among many gum trees in Brisbane Australia. Our extended family includes a white Maremma dog named Mia, two kittens, Simon and Catniss, and one chickens. Why “seven notes of grace”? The grace refers to God’s grace, which He offers to unworthy people like myself. We can freely receive His forgiveness and love. Music is another gracious gift to us: our ability to create, play, sing, communicate with and enjoy it. So the seven refers to the seven notes of the musical scale (yes there are seven, count them A to G) and the notes refers to writing (text and music) and musical notes. I was very relieved when this original blog title finally came to me, which encapsulates so many different aspects of who I am, a musical sinner saved by grace! http://sevennotesofgrace.com/

2 comments on “It takes the Doctor to show you how brilliant you are

  1. Perhaps I am biased, but I have always preferred the female companions that are older – Donna, Romana, Barbara, Liz Shaw, River. I think he does much better with a mature woman around. Here is my link to your post:
    http://gospelaccordingtodoctorwho.tumblr.com/post/50990503674/perhaps-i-am-biased-but-i-have-always-preferred

Leave a Reply

Nature on the Edge

Wildlife photography along the urban edge

Stills From Beautiful Films

a growing archive of handpicked stills from the best looking movies.

Amazing Tangled Grace

A blog about my spiritual journey in the Lord Jesus Christ.

Musically Yours

A rich platter for the humungous appetite of a music lover

A Nourished Spirit by Sue Steiner

A year of thanks-be-to-God to mark my 70th birthday

Danny's Brew for Thought

My thoughts on music, theology, and beyond...

Timely Scores

downloadable sheet music crafted by Christine Sullivan Robbins

The Bible Blotter

Turning the Bible Into Behavior

The Great Physician

A not-so-great future physician learning from the Great Physician: A Journey Through Medicine & Faith

