4 Comments

The beautiful scars that save

Doctor's_time_stream“What’s that?”
“What is the light?”
“It’s beautiful!”

Doctor: “The tracks of my tears . . . Time travel is damage, like a tear in the fabric of reality. That is the scar tissue of my journey through the universe, my path through time and space, from Gallifrey to Trenzalor. . .  My own personal time tunnel, all my days even the ones I haven’t lived yet.”

Well what did we expect to find in his tomb? (his tomb being a giant TARDIS that had leaked out all its ‘bigness’ as it was dying. Did you notice the recent crack in the glass, from the rough landing at Trenzalor, could even be seen in the larger version?)Doctor-Who-7.13-the-name-of-the-doctor-giant-tardis
These are the “tracks of his tears”. Of course it would be this, some spectacular, beautiful, eternal, enduring symbol of the Doctor’s great adventures, some testimony to his role as our Champion, saving human lives, bringing understanding and peace and protection to the universe through all his days. Of course his journey would leave its scars. But scars are the very indication that healing has occured. The Doctor may have torn the fabric of space and time at every turn, yet his actions rescued, saved, revived, made peace, healed.

There are of course other beautiful scars which have brought great healing and peace – you may have a few. In the words of prophet Isaiahby his wounds we are healed“.

Isaiah is obviously not speaking of this Doctor, but of the great Physician, Son of God, Son of Man, King Jesus – the promised one who would heal the rift of sin that stood between us and the loving, eternal, Creator God. It is not any wonder that our fictional Time Lord chose the name “Doctor” – for this is what he does. (But that is the topic for another post I think.)

And just like the Doctor’s companions standing here in his tomb, they can see that some scars are beautiful, particularly when gained in the salvation of others. It’s a little bit like these ones:
“Eight days later the disciples were together again, and this time Thomas was with them. The doors were locked; but suddenly, as before, Jesus was standing among them. “Peace be with you,” he said. Then he said to Thomas, “Put your finger here, and look at my hands. Put your hand into the wound in my side. Don’t be faithless any longer. Believe!”
“My Lord and my God!” Thomas exclaimed. (John 20:26-28)

Death could not defeat our Lord. By His wounds we are healed! There is a whole lDoctor-Who-Deadot more we could say about the Doctor entering his own time stream, like Jesus through whom all things were made entering into time and creation, becoming the created, and setting up an incredible paradox, doing impossible things and all that. But perhaps that is enough for today.

A rugged cross stands as a monument to the beautiful scars of Christ. Have faith in His wounds which bring us peace.

About sevennotesofgrace

The author musing here about music, grace and God goes by the name of Ros. I have a husband (married 27 yrs) and three daughters. I've been many things over the years, particularly a mother, high school teacher, church music director and women's ministry co-ordinator. Now I'm back to teaching high school English full-time. All these experiences have come to me from God's gracious hand, and each day I try to remember that! I live in a home among many gum trees in Brisbane Australia. Our extended family includes a white Maremma dog named Mia, two kittens, Simon and Catniss, and one chickens. Why “seven notes of grace”? The grace refers to God’s grace, which He offers to unworthy people like myself. We can freely receive His forgiveness and love. Music is another gracious gift to us: our ability to create, play, sing, communicate with and enjoy it. So the seven refers to the seven notes of the musical scale (yes there are seven, count them A to G) and the notes refers to writing (text and music) and musical notes. I was very relieved when this original blog title finally came to me, which encapsulates so many different aspects of who I am, a musical sinner saved by grace! http://sevennotesofgrace.com/

4 comments on “The beautiful scars that save

  1. […] The Beautiful Scars that Save                                                   We are all ghosts to you […]

  2. […] The Beautiful Scars that Save                                            The Power of a Name      […]

Leave a comment

Joyful Moments in Christ

Following Jesus while Seeking Joy and Contentment in the Christian Life

The Wee Writing Lassie

The Musings of a Writer / Freelance Editor in Training

Girl on Fire

I'm Ash. I love Jesus. I'm a wife and a mum. I'm a teacher. I'm also studying my Masters of Counselling. I started studying a few years after started the very hard work of engaging my own story of harm and trauma. This is a place where you'll hear my stories, as well as the stories of others. I'll also reflect on faith, healing and walking with Jesus. I pray that these words might encourage you to do your own painful but life-bringing work of examining your own stories, and allowing Jesus to heal the parts of you still locked in shame. For He came that we might have life, and have it to the full. Welcome, fellow traveller.

Khambay's Words, Words, Words

Words, words, words... well said Hamlet! A little blog to go off on tangents within the worlds of history and literature that interest me. From the Tudors to Tom Hardy's Tess, or from the Wars of the Roses to Wuthering Heights, feel free to browse through my musings to pick up extra ideas and points for discussion!

Rachel Elizabeth Campbell

Jesus lover, aspiring writer & Bible Gateway Partner

Jodi Arndt

I write for my own sanity, but I share with hope to encourage you.

Christy Lynne Wood

Looking for the real God

OHIO COWGIRL

Life in the country with family, animals, and good food

Cooperative Catalyst

Changing Education as We Speak

The Literary Snarker

Helpful Summaries of Great Literature