1 Comment

‘No eye has seen…no mind has conceived…’

First DoctorDoctor Who first appeared at 17:16:20 GMT on 23 November 1963, stepping, not quite fully formed, from the minds of his creators, Sydney Newman, Donald Wilson and Cecil Webber, assisted by Anthony Coburn, David Whitaker and Verity Lambert.

Fifty years on, the Doctor’s personal pantheon has grown beyond eighty (writers credited in episodes for television).

 

All these, his gods, determined his name and nature, his age and origins, his times and places, his friends and his enemies, even his regenerations; and they will determine his final passing too. I tend to forget that the Doctor is as much a subject of his gods as we are of ours; as much a prisoner in his time and space as we are in ours; even, ultimately, as limited by his mortality as we are by ours.

He is a creature of his gods. His TARDIS is not his temple; it will become his tomb.

Doctor-Who-7.13-the-name-of-the-doctor-giant-tardisMy interest in time-travel began, as for many fans of a certain age I suspect, with the 1960 film of H.G.Wells’ novella, ‘The Time Machine’. Now, it seems to me that our fascination with ‘time’ is the fascination of any prisoner with the dimensions of his cell; of Robinson Crusoe with his island; of any exile with his unnatural home so that as C.S.Lewis suggested, “If we find ourselves with a desire that nothing in this world can satisfy, the most probable explanation is that we were made for another world.”

Occasionally, something of this sense of loss appears in the Doctor’s story. Certainly, there are elements of it in his grief over his separation from Gallifrey and his guilt at the extinction of his fellow Time Lords.

This works itself out in the lives of his companions as well, I think.

River killsRemember River Song’s regretful revelation in ‘The Impossible Astronaut’….‘When I first met the Doctor…he knew all about me…Trouble is it’s all back to front. My past is his future. We’re travelling in opposite directions. Every time we meet I know him more, he knows me less. I live for the days when I see him. But I know that every time I do he’ll be one step further away. The day is coming when I’ll look into that man’s eyes—my Doctor—and he won’t have the faintest idea who I am. And I think it’s going to kill me.’

Is that dire separation a less hopeful echo of our experience as sinners exiled from Eden, separated from God but still (thank God) troubled by a haunting sense of guilt and lost destiny. Less hopeful because we have this advantage over Professor Song and in fact over all the inhabitants of the vortex; that our Lord will never forget us; that instead of our relationship with him becoming more distant, we grow ever closer.

When Jesus stepped from eternity into time and space, fully formed, God in 4D, he came for us, bringing forgiveness for our guilt and fulfilment for our destiny as beloved children of our Father God.

Created for eternity, dead in time, but now, through knowing him, alive, he draws us back to God so that we can say,  ‘Now we see but a poor reflection as in a mirror; then we shall see face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known.’ 1 Corinthians 13:12

And, wonderfully, we will share this redemption with the rest of creation. This universe of time and space that presently shares our separation, our frustation and our ‘bondage to decay’ will one day share our ‘glorious freedom’.

Because, ‘…our present sufferings are not worth comparing with the glory that will be revealed in us. The creation waits in eager expectation for the sons of God to be revealed. For the creation was subjected to frustration, not by its own choice, but by the will of the one who subjected it, in hope that the creation itself will be liberated from its bondage to decay and brought into the glorious freedom of the children of God. We know that the whole creation has been groaning as in the pains of childbirth right up to the present time. Not only so, but we ourselves, who have the firstfruits of the Spirit, groan inwardly as we wait eagerly for our adoption as sons, the redemption of our bodies. For in this hope we were saved. But hope that is seen is no hope at all. Who hopes for what he already has? But if we hope for what we do not yet have, we wait for it patiently.’ Romans 8:19-25

empty_tomb1
“No eye has seen, no ear has heard, no mind has conceived what God has prepared for those who love him”’
1 Corinthians 2: 9

One comment on “‘No eye has seen…no mind has conceived…’

  1. […] may also enjoy: No eye has seen, no mind has conceived                          One Doctor, Two […]

Leave a comment

Joyful Moments in Christ

Following Jesus while Seeking Joy and Contentment in the Christian Life

The Wee Writing Lassie

The Musings of a Writer / Freelance Editor in Training

Girl on Fire

I'm Ash. I love Jesus. I'm a wife and a mum. I'm a teacher. I'm also studying my Masters of Counselling. I started studying a few years after started the very hard work of engaging my own story of harm and trauma. This is a place where you'll hear my stories, as well as the stories of others. I'll also reflect on faith, healing and walking with Jesus. I pray that these words might encourage you to do your own painful but life-bringing work of examining your own stories, and allowing Jesus to heal the parts of you still locked in shame. For He came that we might have life, and have it to the full. Welcome, fellow traveller.

Khambay's Words, Words, Words

Words, words, words... well said Hamlet! A little blog to go off on tangents within the worlds of history and literature that interest me. From the Tudors to Tom Hardy's Tess, or from the Wars of the Roses to Wuthering Heights, feel free to browse through my musings to pick up extra ideas and points for discussion!

Rachel Elizabeth Campbell

Jesus lover, aspiring writer & Bible Gateway Partner

Jodi Arndt

I write for my own sanity, but I share with hope to encourage you.

Christy Lynne Wood

Looking for the real God

OHIO COWGIRL

Life in the country with family, animals, and good food

Cooperative Catalyst

Changing Education as We Speak

The Literary Snarker

Helpful Summaries of Great Literature